Trinbago Win Their Second Caribbean Premier League Title!

Trinbago Knight Riders have won their second CPL title after they defeated St Kitts & Nevis Patriots. It was a low-scoring thrilling finale which kept the fans on the edge of their seats. Kevon Cooper was the man who pulled Trinbago out of the slump for the title victory. 

Batting first, Patriots could manage a small total of 135 runs in the 20 overs. Trinbago bowlers were on point from ball one. Evin Lewis and Chris Gayle, Patriots’ batting sensations throughout the tournament, failed to strike at the top. Also, Mohammad Hafeez could not make enough impact on the game. As a result, they found themselves at 37 for the loss of three wickets. Brandon King did not last long either as he scored 19 off 21 balls, restricting Patriots to 45/4 after half the innings.

Also Read:

England Win The Test Series After James Anderson’s Career Best

Runs were hard to come by, but the lower-middle order of Patriots helped them avoid a possible collapse. They were 114 after the 19th over, and they needed to make the maximum out of the last one. Mohammad Nabi did exactly that as he scored 18 off the last over (total 21 in the over).

Trinbago Knight Riders | St Kitts And Nevis Patriots | Evin Lewis | Mohammad Nabi | Kevon Cooper | Dwayne Bravo
Cooper Scored 29 Off 14 Balls To Help TKR Win Their 2nd Title!

In reply, Trinbago started off in a similar fashion. Trinbago were 90 runs at the loss of seven wickets and needed 46 off the last five. Slower surface did not let the runs come easily. However, Kevon Cooper had something else in mind. He blasted 29 runs off just 14 balls, which led Trinbago to their second CPL title. Kevon Cooper won the Man of the Match award for his excellent all round performance under pressure.

Check Also

ICC Cricket Match Schedule, Series & Fixtures

ICC Cricket Match Schedule, Series & Match Fixtures Details: We bring you an update of …