West indies squad for series with india

West indies squad for test series with india

The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) announced west indies squad on Tuesday (July 12) with 13 members that that will face India in the first Test in Antigua.Squad includes  the Barbados pacer, as the 13-member who is of 25-years-old,who made his One-Day International debut against Ireland in 2014, has played only one international game.

West indies squad for test series with india

However, what comes as a surprise is the board’s announcement of Cummins replacing Jerome Taylor, who retired from Test cricket, in the squad. Taylor, however, wasn’t named in the squad for the first Test, and the selection panel went on to announce a 12-member team on July 11.

Jason Holder will be leading the team and the all-rounder kraigg brathwaite has been named as the vice-captain.

while Cummins was played in his 41 first-class games, has took 116 wickets at an impressive average of 22.56. He last played a first-class match in the month of March this year in the WICB professional cricket league regional four-day tournament.end up with 33 wickets from 10 games at an average of 20.69.Taylor was not picked for the series against India later this month. In total, he has played 46 Tests, picking up 130 wickets after making his debut in 2003 against Sri Lanka.

“The selection panel of the West Indies Cricket Board today named fast bowler Miguel Cummins as replacement for Jerome Taylor in the 13-member squad to face India in the upcoming first Test match against India,” the WICB said in a release.

West Indies will take on India in a four-match Test series, starting first Test from July 21  in Antigua.

west indies  Squad: Jason Holder (c), Kraigg Brathwaite (vc),Marlon Samuels, Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich,Rajendra Chandrika, Shannon Gabriel, Leon Johnson,  Miguel Cummins.







West indies squad announced for test series with india

Leave a Comment